The Institute Library, run in conjunction with the Joint Library of the Hellenic and Roman Societies, is housed on the third floor of Senate House, South Block. This world-class library is central to the Institute’s mission of research promotion and facilitation, for which we receive funding from the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE). With a dedicated staff of five permanent members plus our annual Sconul trainee, the Library comes under the overall umbrella of the University of London Senate House Libraries (SHL).

Classics Library main reading roomThe Classics library currently contains 125,000 books and over 21,000 bound volumes of periodicals, virtually all on open shelves. About 2,000 monograph volumes are added annually; 645 periodical titles are currently taken, the majority by exchange. The whole forms an invaluable interdisciplinary tool serving all aspects of research in the ancient world. Further information about the Library's holdings and resources, as well as an on-line Catalogue, are available on the dedicated Library website.

Admission is open all members of the Institute, the Hellenic Society and Roman Society; however, borrowing rights are limited to members of the two Societies.

Opening Hours

Term time:
Monday and Friday 9.30am - 6pm
Tues - Wednesday - Thursday: 9.30am - 8.00pm
Saturday: 10.00am - 4.30pm

Out of term:
Monday - Friday: 9.30am - 6.00pm
Saturday*: 10.00am - 4.30pm

* The library is not open on Saturdays in August.

Evening Opening Spring Term 2017
Late opening on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays will begin on Tuesday 10th January until Thursday 23rd March 2017

Evening Opening Summer Term 2017
Late opening on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays will begin on Tuesday 25th April until Thursday 8th June 2017

Easter closure days 2017
The Library will close at 6.00 pm on Wednesday 12th April and re-open on Wednesday 19th April

Spring Bank Holiday closure days 2017
The Library will be closed on three days in May: Monday 1st May; Saturday 27th May; Monday 29th May

Summer Closure 2017
The Library will close at 6.00 pm on 18th August and re-open two weeks later on Monday 4th September at 9.30 am

Christmas Closure 2017
The Library will close on Friday 22nd December (exact time to be confirmed) and re-open on Tuesday 2nd January 2018 at 9.30 am

Library enquiries and issue desk: +44 (0)207 862 8709